Get Adobe Flash player


Seafair Trophy
MMPBC Club Champs
24th/25th May 2014


By Chris Breen


We had a pretty good turn-out for the weekend’s races. In addition to the usual local miscreants we had John Nicholls from Taranaki, plus Peter Anderson, Matt McGovern, Bruce Clarke, Tony Christiansen and Steve Trott up from Tauranga.


Saturday proved a bit showery and grew more windy throughout the day, so the Q and 1/8 electric classes were shifted to early Sunday morning.


First up Saturday, as normal, was N2 hydro. Phil successfully finished all 3 heats while Merv, Chris and Peter all suffered a DNF somewhere along the line. This gave the title to Phil with Merv second and Chris a close third.


P Hydro saw 5 entries. Again there were a few DNS & DNFs over the three heats. Craig took the title closely followed by Phil as they both finished all heats. Merv, Chris and Peter were all somewhat further back, again demonstrating that finishing heats is all-important.


Scale 45 nitro was next. John was his usual consistent self and took two wins and a second in the heats and took out the final virtually unchallenged.   Chris provided a little entertainment by at one stage launching Merv’s boat upsidedown!!!



The wind was now pretty gusty so the Q and 1/8th electric were shifted to Sunday.


Sunday dawned bright and still. In Q hydro Chris took both heats with Merv missing a buoy shifting him to last place, plus a DNF.


1/8th scale was very interesting with more electric boats than nitro at this regatta !!! In the three electric heats Malcolm took every win with Chris second and Merv third. Phil suffered a recurring problem of some undetermined electrical nature and had no speed, so pulled out of each heat to avoid causing possible damage.


1/8th Nitro saw three boats with Merv, in Budweiser, suffering fuel blockage gremlins in all heats only to cure the problem at the last moment and take out the Trophy final!! The most consistent boat was Matt in Blue Chip. John, in Albert Lee, had difficulty completing several heats but came in behind Merv in the final. Steve in Executone unfortunately suffered a worrying “Pop, clunk” at first start-up and never even got the boat wet.


Classic Petrol Hydro saw five boats entered. Chris unfortunately suffered a radio box breakage after his first test run so dropped out.   Steve and Bruce consistently finished every race for Bruce to take the title followed by Steve with Merv third and then Tony.


Sport hydro was fast to say the least. After Matt recognised that showering his plug with our salty water causes it to earth out Matt, Tony, and Bruce vied to complete the most spectacular wipe-out. Bruce took both heats followed by Tony and then Matt.



Copyright © Merv Sowden 2013-2020. All Rights Reserved