Get Adobe Flash player

Governor’s Cup,

                                                By Chris Breen                     29/30 November 2014


We had reasonably good racing conditions, with a nuisance wind for the small boats and the odd shower that brought proceedings to a halt for a few minutes. Unfortunately we had a small turn-out with 7 racers competing over the two days including Chris Breen, Merv Sowden and Jason Lester from Auckland, and John Nichols and Paul Garner from New Plymouth.


Chris Breen, Jason Lester and Peter Anderson endured pretty extreme offshore weather conditions for these little 2S Fast Electric hydros over 3 heats. Chris finished all three races while Jason and Peter each had a DNF resulting in a win to Chris, followed by Peter, and then Jason. Conditions were marginal on the back straight and the pounding finally broke Jason’s drive train.


The 4S hydros faired only a little better in the conditions. Chris and Peter drove cautiously to finish all four heats, while Jason, who had entered his N2 hydro suffered two DNFs. Chris took the win followed by Peter and Jason.


The 6S Q hydros saw two boats. Chris in his low-slung yellow beast and Merv with his brand new Orange creation. Conditions suited Chris’ boat to score two wins with Merv close behind.


Scale 45 nitro

These boats must be the most frustrating as Merv, Steve, Paul and John all suffered various DNFs and DNSs. Paul got some good speed in his shocking green meanie, but broke his cowl in a crash. Eventually Steve took home the trophy.

1/8th Scale FE

Only two races, with Merv and Chris taking one each to share the first names to be engraved on the impressive new trophy.

1/8 scale Nitro

Steve Trott was his usual very consistent and fast self, taking five straight heat wins plus the final. John and Matt McGovern had mixed success finishing four and three races respectively, but Merv was plagued by gremlins all day. Steve took the trophy followed by John.

Scale Petrol Hydro

5 heats saw Bruce Clark take consistent firsts (apart from one DNF), with Steve Trott close behind and Chris Breen third, both with a single DNF. With lap sprints added, Bruce was the clear winner followed by Steve and then Chris. Unfortunately, during the sprints Jason hit some floating debris with his brand-new petrol hydro and suffered damage that put him out.

Sport Petrol Hydro

Matt McGovern and Bruce Clark brought very similar timber boats to this event and had three fast heat races with virtually nothing between them. A DNF by Bruce allowed Matt to take the title.

Offshore Endurance

Only two boats competed, both fast petrols from Bruce and Matthew. Conditions were reasonably smooth but tripped up Bruce more than once. Matthew scored 44 laps to Bruce’s 14 to give Matthew the win.


Officials hard at Work

Bruce Clarke, First winner of the Petrol Classic Hydro Trophy

Steve won both Scale 45 & 1/8th Hydro Governors Cup Trophies


Time to go Home..........



Some Video from The Governors Cup

Copyright © Merv Sowden 2013-2020. All Rights Reserved